BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Winner of Specsavers National Book Awards: Crime/Thriller Book of the Year 2014. Shortlisted for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2014.

Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM: "Unputdownable." --Booklist "The best book of 2014." --Suspense Magazine "The next Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." --The New York Post A breakneck race against time...and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all ... read more

I Am Pilgrim

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good

Reviewed by Pascale, one of our longstanding casual staff members and a creative writing major. Murakami’s new novel Killing Commendatore is the Kyoto-born author at his whimsical best. Compelling and enigmatic, it follows a Japanese portrait painter and the ... read more

Killing Commendatore

THE AWARDWINNING, INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER'The Choice is a gift to humanity. One of those rare and eternal stories that you don't want to end and that leave you forever changed' DESMOND TUTU, Nobel Peace Prize LaureateIn 1944, sixteen-year-old Edith Eger w... read more

The Choice: Even in Hell Hope Can Flower

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good

A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of a fictional  iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup. "I devoured Daisy Jones & The Six in a day, falling head over heels for it. Daisy and the band ... read more

Daisy Jones and the Six

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.
... read more

See What I Have Done

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Soon to be a Hulu limited series, starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington
 
Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & No... read more

Little Fires Everywhere

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:WINNER FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

"Ingenious... Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I've read in a novel this century." --The New York Times   WINNER OF THE 2018 WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION   LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family drive... read more

Home Fire

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Daughter of the Territory is the amazing life story of Jacqueline Hammar. Born in Darwin in 1929, Jacqueline's childhood was spent in a succession of bush towns before she was sent to school in Darwin. With the outbreak of World War II, she moved to Brisbane to finish h... read more

Daughter of the Territory

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'Extraordinary...smart, sophisticated, suspenseful - and important. If you try one new thing this year, make it Star of the North.'LEE CHILD'Tense and compelling.? James Swallow, Sunday Timesbestselling author of NOMADNorth Korea and the USA are on the brink of warA young Am... read more

Star of the North

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year 2015. Bailey's Shortlist 2016

Brace yourself for the most astonishing, challenging, upsetting, and profoundly moving book in many a season. An epic about love and friendship in the twenty-first century that goes into some of the darkest places fiction has ever traveled and yet somehow improbably breaks throu... read more

A Little Life

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:very good
Awards:Long-listed for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2016 A NEW YORK TIMES TOP TEN NOTABLE BOOK 2016 A ship sets sail with a killer on board . . . 1859. A man joins a whaling ship bound for the Arctic Circle. Having left the British Army with his reputation in tatters, Patrick Sumner ha... read more

The North Water

'Why is there so much inequality?' Xenia asks her father, the world famous economist Yanis Varoufakis. Drawing on memories of her childhood and a variety of well-known tales - from Oedipus and Faust to Frankenstein and The Matrix - Varoufakis explains eve... read more

Talking to My Daughter about the Economy