BOOKS WE LOVE

This is a selection of books one, many or all of us at VIVA have read and absolutely love. We change this list often as we will read a new book and simply have to have it on our list.


Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Long-listed for Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2016 A NEW YORK TIMES TOP TEN NOTABLE BOOK 2016 A ship sets sail with a killer on board . . . 1859. A man joins a whaling ship bound for the Arctic Circle. Having left the British Army with his reputation in tatters, Patrick Sumner h... read more

The North Water

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'This land is a forever land. The clock ticks to a different time.'Set on the banks of Lake Illawarra and spanning four centuries, Storyland is a remarkable and moving novel about who we are and our connection to this land.Telling the stories of five very ... read more

Storyland [Miles Franklin 2018 Shortlist]

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:Shortlisted for International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 1998 and IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 1998 and Booker Prize for Fiction 1996.

1843. Grace Marks, sixteen, is declared guilty and sentenced to life in prison for participating in the murders of Thomas Kinnear, for whom she was a maid, and Nancy Montgomery, the housekeeper and Thomas' lover. Years later, a group of reformists and spiritualists try to obtain a pardon for her.

Alias Grace

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

"Ingenious... Builds to one of the most memorable final scenes I've read in a novel this century." --The New York Times
 
WINNER OF THE 2018 WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION
 
LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of a... read more

Home Fire

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 A New York Times Notable Book of 2017 A Washington Post Top Ten Book of 2017 A San Francisco Chronicle Top Ten Book of 2017 Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence, the Lambda Award and the California Book Award.

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018
'You will sob little tears of joy' Nell Zink
'I recommend it with my whole heart' Ann Patchett
'I adore this book' Armistead Maupin
'Charming, languid and incredibly funny, I absolutely adored Arthur' Jenny Colgan... read more

Less: A Novel

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Reading Level:General Adult

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah's Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.
New York socia... read more

Lilac Girls

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Jaxie dreads going home. His mum?s dead. The old man bashes him without mercy, and he wishes he was an orphan. But no one?s ever told Jaxie Clackton to be careful what he wishes for. In one terrible moment his life is stripped to little more than what he can carry and how he c... read more

The Shepherd's Hut

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

A debut literary thriller from an incredible new voice. What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer? Perfect for fans of STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel. Since the Damn Stupid turned the clock back on civilization by centuries, the world has... read more

The Wolf Road

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:W

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2018 "Everything about this novel rings true. . . . Original, funny, disarmingly oblique and unique."--The Guardian
In an unnamed city, middle sister stands out for the wrong reasons. She reads while walking, for one. And she has been taking French n... read more

Milkman

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

Awards:2018 Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2018 MAN BOOKER PRIZE   A wondrous and wise coming-of-age love story from the celebrated author of Conversations with Friends   At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football te... read more

Normal People

Yanis Varoufakis, the bestselling author of Adults in the Room, uses personal stories and famous myths to explain what economics is and why it has the power to change our world. Why is there so much inequality?In this intima... read more

Talking to my Daughter About the Economy: A Brief History of Capitalism

Category:

 BOOKS WE LOVE

'Educated is a remarkable memoir of a young woman raised in a survivalist family in Idaho who strives for education while still showing great understanding and love for the world she leaves behind.'
- BARACK OBAMA ________________________ Tara Westover grew up preparing for the E... read more

Educated